Today's kitchen trends

 

The kitchen, it’s often said, is the heart and soul of your home, a hub where family and friends gather to cook and eat their meals.

 

The kitchen, it’s often said, is the heart and soul of your home, a hub where family and friends gather to cook and eat their meals. However, renovating a kitchen is a major investment for homeowners. Because the key selling point of any home is the kitchen, it only makes sense to be careful when you choose colours and building materials. To help you with these decisions, here are five trends you will see in 2014.
 
Grey
 
Grey, a solid trend for every room in your home for a few seasons now, is once again everywhere in 2014, including in the kitchen. Different shades of grey, from lacquered and modern to stonewashed and country-style, remain popular. With a contrasting backsplash, your kitchen cabinets can only look better.
 
Glass
 
No matter how you look at it, whether we’re talking about cabinets with tempered glass or glass doors, a backsplash with glass paste or a recycled glass countertop, glass is very trendy. Its transparency and wide choice of colours and textures add up to a very desirable option that is very much in vogue.
 
Rustic wood
 
Rustic-style wood, once the domain of only cottages and country homes, can now be found in city kitchens and lofts—adding a natural touch to their decor.
 
The industrial look
 
Industrial kitchens, a cross between a Manhattan-style restaurant and loft, are gaining popularity. With a preference for open cabinets and new and used material, industrial-style kitchens still offer you all the comforts of modern everyday life and much more. Like a restaurant, they typically come with a large-capacity refrigerator and gas stove. An enamelled cast iron or galvanized steel sink usually completes the look.
 
White
 
Timeless in look and style, white kitchens tend to be reinvented every year. In 2014, you will see warmer whites with a more rustic, country-style look, plus pure and highly lacquered whites in über-modern kitchens. There’s certainly something for everyone.

Tags design 
 
comments powered by Disqus

About the author

Vanessa Sicotte is a blogger passionate about décor & design.

Did this article inspire you?

See how you can save it in a project—something you can do with any colours or photos you find on the site too.

Let’s go!

Les tendances pour la cuisine

 

On dit que la cuisine est le cœur de la maison, l’endroit rassembleur où les gens se réunissent pour les repas et leur préparation.

 

On dit que la cuisine est le cœur de la maison, l’endroit rassembleur où les gens se réunissent pour les repas et leur préparation. Toutefois, la réfection d’une cuisine représente un investissement majeur pour les propriétaires. Point important lors de la vente d’une propriété, il est normal que nous soyons minutieux dans le choix des couleurs et matériaux. Pour vous aider dans cette décision, voici cinq des tendances qui seront en vue en 2014.
 
Le gris
 
Très tendance dans toutes les pièces de la maison depuis quelques saisons déjà, le gris est une fois de plus omniprésent en 2014, incluant dans la cuisine. Qu’il soit laqué et moderne, ou délavé et d’allure plus champêtre, le gris décliné en ses différentes tonalités a la cote. Accompagnées d’un dosseret contrastant, les armoires de cuisine prennent du gallon.
 
Le verre
 
Armoires de verre trempé ou portes vitrées, pâte de verre sur le dosseret ou comptoir en verre recyclé, le verre est très tendance. La transparence de cette matière ainsi que ses couleurs et textures variées en font un choix très actuel et populaire.
 
Le bois rustique
 
Nullement réservé aux chalets et aux maisons champêtres, le bois de type rustique fait surface dans les cuisines de ville et les lofts, ajoutant une touche naturelle aux décors.
 
Le look industriel
 
Entre la cuisine de restaurant et celle d’un loft new-yorkais, la cuisine industrielle gagne en popularité. Favorisant le rangement ouvert et les matières usées et brutes, les cuisines de style industriel offrent tout de même tout le confort de la vie moderne… et même plus. Comme dans un restaurant, mettez l’accent sur un réfrigérateur à grande capacité et un poêle à gaz. Un évier en fonte émaillée ou en acier galvanisé viendra compléter le look.
 
Le blanc
 
Intemporelles, les cuisines toutes de blanc vêtues se voient réinventées chaque année. En 2014, nous verrons des blancs qui se réchauffent pour un look plus rustique et champêtre ainsi que des blancs purs et très laqués dans les cuisines ultra-modernes. Il y en a assurément pour tous les goûts. 

Tags design 
 
comments powered by Disqus

À propos de l'auteur

Mère de trois enfants, Vanessa Sicotte est une femme d’affaires et une blogueuse passionnée par la décoration et le design.

Cet article vous inspire?

Découvrez comment le sauvegarder dans un projet pour vous en inspirer, tout comme vous pouvez aussi le faire avec les couleurs et les photos qui se retrouvent sur le site.

C’est parti!